حوكمة الشركة - الإرشادات

بعثة مجلس الإدارة

يمثل مجلس إدارة ("المجلس") شركة Western Digital ("الشركة") مصالح المالكين فيما يتعلق بمواصلة النجاح في العمل، بما يشمل زيادة العائدات المالية على المدى الطويل. يقع على عاتقمجلس الإدارة مسؤولية تحديد أن الشركة تدار بطريقة التي يسعى إليها لتحقق هذه النتيجة. هذه مسؤولية فعالة، وليست سلبية. ولدى المجلس هدف أنه في الأوقات الجيدة، فضلا عن الصعوبات، تقوم الإدارة بتنفيذ مسؤولياتها بشكل كبير. وتتمثل مسؤولية المجلس في مراقبة فعالية السياسات والقرارات الإدارية بشكل منتظم بما في ذلك تنفيذ استراتيجياته.

وتمثل هذه المبادئ التوجيهية تفكير المجلس الحالي فيما يتعلق ببعض مسائل الحوكمة المؤسسية التي تعتبر ذات أهمية بالنسبة للمساهمين. وتوفر هذه المبادئ التوجيهية، إلى جانب مواثيق لجان المجلس، إطار عمل لحوكمة الشركة. هي مجرد مبادىء توجيهية وليست قواعد صارمة. وستستمر لجنة الحوكمة في تقييم مدى ملائمة وفعالية المبادئ التوجيهية وتوصي من وقت لآخر بالتغييرات التي يتم اعتمادها من قبل مجلس الإدارة حسب ما يراه مناسبا لمصالح الشركة أو وفقا للقوانين واللوائح المعمول بها.

اختيار المجلس وتكوينه

1. معايير عضوية المجلس

تستعرض لجنة الحوكمة دوريا (على الأقل سنويا) مزيج من المهارات ومستويات الخبرة وخلفيات أعضاء المجلس الحاليين والمحتملين في ضوء الاحتياجات المتوقعة.

2. الاختيار والتوجيه

تستعرض لجنة الحوكمة مؤهلات المرشحين المحتملين وتوصي بمرشحين للعضوية الكاملة في مجلس الإدارة. ويجوز للجنة الحوكمة أن تتلقى اقتراحات للمرشحين من فرادى أعضاء مجلس الإدارة، بمن فيهم الرئيس التنفيذي للشركة ("الرئيس التنفيذي")، وكذلك من مساهمي الشركة. وفي حين أن لجنة الحوكمة ليست لديها مؤهلات دنيا محددة لمرشحي بمناصب أعضاء بمجلس الإدارة، اعتمدت لجنة الحوكمة سياسة تتعلق بالعوامل الحاسمة التي يجب أخذها بعين الاعتبار عند اختيار المرشحين لمناصب أعضاء بالمجلس والتي تشمل: الأخلاقيات الشخصية والمهنية للمرشح ونزاهته وقيمه؛ فكر المرشح وحكمه وبصيرته ومهاراته وخبراته (بما في ذلك فهم التسويق والتمويل وتكنولوجيا الشركة والعناصر الأخرى ذات الصلة بنجاح الشركة مثل الشركة) والإنجازات، والتي يُنظر إليها جميعًا في سياق التكوين العام للمجلس؛ عدم وجود أي تضارب في المصالح (سواء كان ذلك بسبب علاقة تجارية أو شخصية) أو عائق قانوني على المرشح الذي يعمل كمدير أو تقييد علىه؛ مع وجود أغلبية أعضاء المجلس المستقلين في مجلس الإدارة. وتمثيل المصالح طويلة الأجل للمساهمين ككل، وتنوع الخلفيات والخبرات الضرورية للغاية، والمفيدة لمجلس الإدارة والشركة.

ومن المتوقع أن يكرس كل عضو من أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الوقت والجهد اللازمان لفهم أعمال الشركة وأن يفي بتنفيذ بشكل مناسب مسؤوليات المدير. يلزم من أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الجدد المشاركة في برنامج توجيه المديرين بالشركة لتعريف هؤلاء المديرين، من بين عدة أمور، على أعمال الشركة والقضايا المالية والمحاسبية وإدارة المخاطر الهامة والموظفين التنفيذيين الرئيسيين ومدققي الحسابات المستقلين والمدققين الداخليين ومدونة الأخلقيات، والمبادئ التوجيهية لحوكمة الشركات. تشجع الشركة مديريها على حضور أحد برامج التعليم المتواصل على الأقل كل عام لمساعدتهم في أداء مسؤوليات مجلس الإدارة.

3. تمديد الدعوة إلى مدير محتمل للانضمام إلى مجلس الإدارة

يجب أن يقوم رئيس لجنة الحوكمة أو من ينوب عنه، نيابة عن المجلس، بتمديد الدعوة للانضمامإلى مجلس الإدارة.

قيادة المجلس الإدارة

4. اختيار الرئيس والمدير التنفيذي

وللمجلس حرية اختيار رئيس مجلس الإدارة والرئيس التنفيذي بأي شكل من الأشكال التي يعتبرها المجلس أفضل لصالح الشركة في وقت معين. وعليه، ليس لدى مجلس الإدارة سياسة بشأن ما إذا كان يجب فصل دورا المدير التنفيذي ورئيس مجلس الإدارة أو عدم فصلهما، وإن كان يجب فصلهما، ما إذا كان ينبغي اختيار رئيس مجلس الإدارة من الأعضاء غير الموظفين أو أن يكون مديرا من ضمن الموظفين.

5. المدير الرئيسي

يقوم مجلس الإدارة بتعيين مدير رئيسي مستقل: (1) إذا لم يكن الرئيس عضوا مستقلا بمجلس الإدارة بموجب معايير الإدراج في بورصة نازداك للأوراق المالية ("قواعد الإدراج المعمول بها")، أو (2) إذا رأى المجلس خلاف ذلك مناسبا.  وسيكون المدير المستقل الرئيسي بمثابة حلقة وصل بين المديرين المستقلين وإدارة الشركة، ويكون مسؤولا عن مساعدة الرئيس في وضع جدول أعمال اجتماعات مجلس الإدارة، لتنسيق جدول أعمال ورؤساء الدورات التنفيذية للمديرين المستقلين، ولأداء واجبات أخرى يحددها المجلس من وقت لآخر.

6. الدورات التنفيذية للمديرين غير الإداريين

ويجتمع المديرون المستقلون، على هذا النحو، وفقا لقواعد الإدراج المعمول بها، مرتين في السنة على الأقل دون حضور أي مسؤولين تنفيذيين أو مديرين إداريين.  ومن المقرر عقد هذه الاجتماعات بالتزامن مع اجتماعات المجلس العادية.  وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، فإن أي مدير مستقل قد يدعو إلى عقد دورة تنفيذية للمديرين المستقلين في مجلس الإدارة ليتزامن مع أي اجتماع للمجلس مقرر عقده بانتظام.  كما يجوز للمديرين المستقلين أن يجتمعوا بشكل منفصل مع المدير التنفيذي من وقت لآخر وفقا لما يحدده المديرون المستقلون و / أو المدير التنفيذي.

7. الوصول إلى المستشارين المستقلين

ويحق للمجلس ولجانه الوصول إلى هؤلاء المستشارين المستقلين حيث يرى المجلس أو اللجنة ذات الصلة (بما يتفق مع أحكام ميثاقه) ضروريًا ومناسبا.

8. حجم مجلس الإدارة

وقد قرر مجلس الإدارة ولجنة الحوكمة أن مجلس الإدارة المؤلف من 7 إلى 13 مديرا هو الحجم المناسب حاليا.

9. مجموعة متنوعة من المديرين الداخليين والمستقلين

وفيما يتعلق بمسائل حوكمة الشركات، تتمثل الممارسة في إشراك المجلس بكامل هيئته. يتألف أغلبية المجلس من المديرين المستقلين.

10. استقلالية أعضاء مجلس الإدارة

يقوم مجلس الإدارة سنويا بمراجعة العلاقات التي تربط كل عضو في الإدارة بالشركة.  وفي أعقاب هذه المراجعة السنوية، ألا يكون لدى المديرين الذين يحددهم المجلس بصورة مؤكدة أي علاقة يرى المجلس أنها من شأنها أن تتداخل مع ممارسة الحكم المستقل في تنفيذ مسؤوليات المدير، وبخلاف ذلك من يستوفون معايير مصطلح المدير المستقل بموجب قواعد الإدراج المعمول بها، فسيتم اعتبارهم مديرين مستقلين.

تتكون كل لجنة من لجان التدقيق ولجنة التعويضات ولجنة الحوكمة بالكامل من أعضاء مستقلين يفيون بالمتطلبات القانونية والتنظيمية وأسواق البورصة المعمول بها والمطلوبة لإحالة أي من هذه اللجان.

11. المديرون الذين يغيرون مسؤولياتهم الوظيفية الحالية

يقدم أي عضو يقوم بتغيير كبير في المهنة أو يتقاعد عن وظيفته الرئيسية أو غير متاح للمشاركة الفعلية بسبب الصحة أو تغيير مكان الإقامة أو سبب مشابه (باستثناء مدة قصيرة) للجنة الحوكمة طلبًا بالاستقالة من المجلس. ويتم البت في هذا الطلب المشروط بالاستقالة بقرار من المجلس بناء على توصية من لجنة الحوكمة.

12. خدمة من مجالس ولجان شركات أخرى

يتم تشجيع المديرين على الحد من عدد المجالس الأخرى التي يخدمون فيها، مع مراعاة الحضور المحتمل للمجلس، والمشاركة والفعالية في هذه المجالس. ولا يجوز أن يخدم المديرون في آن واحد أكثر من خمس مجالس عامة للشركة، بما في ذلك مجلس إدارة الشركة؛ ومع ذلك شريطة أن إذا كان المدير مسؤولاً تنفييًا في شركة عامة، فإنه لا يجوز له أن يخدم في وقت واحد أكثر من مجلسين من الشركات العامة، يما في ذلك مجلس إدارة الشركة. كما ينبغي على أعضاء مجلس الإدارة تقديم المشورة لرئيس مجلس الإدارة ورئيس لجنة الحوكمة قبل قبول الدعوة للعمل في مجلس إدارة آخر.

لا يجوز أن يخدم أعضاء لجنة التدقيق في آن واحد أكثر من ثلاث لجان تدقيق بالشركات العامة، بما في ذلك لجنة تدقيق الشركات، باستثناء الموافقة المسبقة للمجلس.

13. سن التقاعد والحدود الزمنية

لا يعتقد مجلس الإدارة أن ينبغي وضع حدود زمنية. وفي حين أن الحدود الزمنية يمكن أن تساعد على ضمان وجود أفكار وآراء جديدة متوفرة لدى المجلس، فإنهم يفتقرون إلى فقدان مساهمة أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الذين تمكنوا من التطوير، على مدى فترة زمنية، وزيادة الفهم الأعمق للشركة وعملياتها، وبالتالي، تقديم مساهمة متزايدة للمجلس ككل. وكبديل للحدود الزمنية، تقوم لجنة الحوكمة، بالاشتراك مع المدير التنفيذي، بمراجعة دورية لمساهمة كل عضو من أعضاء مجلس الإدارة سنويًا. وهذا يُتيح أيضًا لكل مدير الفرصة للتأكيد بسهولة الرغبة في الاستمرار كعضو في المجلس.

وقد تبنى مجلس الإدارة سياسة، ما لم يحدد في حالة معينة أن الحيازة الأطول تصب في صالح مجلس الإدارة أو الشركة: (1) لا يعين أي عضو من أعضاء مجلس الإدارة لإعادة انتخابه في اجتماع سنوي للمساهمين يتزامن مع أو بعد عيد ميلاده ال 72 التالي و (2) يتقاعد المديرون الداخليون في تاريخ تقاعدهم أو إنهاء خدمتهم مع الشركة أو الشركات التابعة لها.

تعويض مجلس الإدارة

14. تعويض مجلس الإدارة

ويوافق مجلس الإدارة على استمارة تعويض المديرين والمبلغ بناء على توصية لجنة التعويضات. وعند إجراء توصيتها، تنظر لجنة التعويضات فيما يلي: (1) كل من الأشكال المباشرة وغير المباشرة لتعويض مديري الشركة، بما في ذلك أي مساهمات خيرية من قبل الشركة للمؤسسات التي ينتمي مدير والاستشارات أو الترتيبات الأخرى المشابهة بين الشركة ومدير، (2) والأثر على استقلالية مبلغ وشكل التعويض للمدير. تقوم إدارة الموارد البشرية في الشركة بمراقبة تعويضات أعضاء مجلس الإدارة فيما يتعلق بغيرها من الشركات الأمريكية المماثلة على أساس مستمر، وتوصي لجنة التعويضات بإجراء تغييرات في برنامج تعويض أعضاء مجلس الإدارة كما تراه مناسبا. يجوز للجنة التعويضات أيضًا، وفقا لتقديرها الخاص بعد النظر في عوامل الاستقلالية التي قد تتطلبها قواعد الإدراج المعمول بها أو قواعد هيئة الأوراق المالية والبورصات الأمريكية المعمول بها، أن تحتفظ أو تحصل على مشورة مستشار تعويض أو مستشار قانوني أو مستشار آخر لمساعدته كما تحدده لجنة التعويضات ضروريًا أو مناسبًا.

إن رسوم أعضاء مجلس الإدارة هي التعويض الوحيد الذي يمكن أن يحصل عليه عضو لجنة التدقيق بالشركة من الشركة.

أداء المجلس

15. تقييم أداء مجلس الإدارة

يقوم المجلس بأداء تقييم ذاتي مرة سنويًا على الأقل باستخدام استبيان تقييم ذاتي و/أو ميسر من جهة خارجية و/أو وسائل أخرى مناسبة مطورة من قِبل لجنة الحوكمة ومعتمدة من المجلس. يتم تصميم التقييم الذاتي لتقييم إسهامات مجلس الإدارة بالكامل وإسهامات لجان المجلس وتحديدًا لمراجعة المجالات التي يعتقد أعضاء المجلس أنه كان يمكن المشاركة فيها بإسهامات أفضل. الهدف هو زيادة فعالية وظائف المجلس، وليس استهدافًا لأعضاء مجلس الإدارة كأفراد. ويعتقد المجلس على الرغم من ذلك أن تقييمات أعضاء مجلس الإدارة كأفراد جزء هام من تقييم أداء المجلس. لذا تعد سياسة الشركة هي توفير طريقة لمراجعة وتقييم أعضاء مجلس الإدارة لأداء كل فرد من أعضاء المجلس كجزء من عملية تقييم المجلس بصورة شاملة. وعلاوةً على ذلك، تُجري كل لجنة من لجان مجلس الإدارة تقييمًا ذاتيًا سنويًا. تدير لجنة الحوكمة عملية مراجعة المجلس.

16. تفاعل المجلس مع المستثمرين المؤسسيين، والصحافة، والعملاء، الخ.

ويرى المجلس أن الإدارة عموما يجب أن تتحدث لصالح الشركة. وفي حين يجوز لأعضاء مجلس الإدارة الفرديين، من وقت لآخر، الاجتماع أو التواصل مع مختلف الدوائر المعنية بالشركة، فمن المتوقع أن يقوم أعضاء المجلس بذلك بمعرفة الإدارة، وفي معظم الحالات، بناء على طلب الإدارة. ويجوز للمجلس، وفقا لتقديره، التفاعل مع مساهمي الشركة حسب مقتضى الحال.

علاقة المجلس مع الإدارة العليا

17. الحضور المنتظم لغير أعضاء مجلس الإدارة في اجتماعات المجلس

المستشار العام و / أو أمين الصندوق هما غير أعضاء الإدارة الوحيدين الحاضرين بصفة عامة في كل اجتماع من اجتماعات المجلس. يحضر المسؤولون الذين يشكلون الإدارة العليا اجتماعات لعروض عملية ومالية وعروض ذات صلة. ويحضر مسؤولون آخرون على أساس الدعوة لتقديم العروض أو لأغراض أخرى.

18. وصول مجلس الإدارة مع الإدارة العليا

يتمتع أعضاء مجلس الإدارة بحق الوصول الكامل إلى إدارة الشركة. ومن المفترض أن أعضاء مجلس الإدارة سيستخدمون الحكم للتأكد من أن هذا الاتصال لا يشتت انتباه الشركة وأن هذا الاتصال، إذا كان خطيا، نيتم نسخه إلى الرئيس التنفيذي. وعلاوة على ذلك، يشجع المجلس الإدارة، من وقت لآخر، على جلب المديرين إلى اجتماعات المجلس الذين: (أ) يمكن أن يقدموا رؤية إضافية للبنود التي تجرى مناقشتها بسبب المشاركة الشخصية في هذه المجالات و / أو (ب) تمثيل المديرين ذوي الإمكانيات المستقبلية التي تعتقد الإدارة العليا أنه ينبغي أن يخضوا تجربة المشاركة بالمجلس.

إجراءات الاجتماعات

19. اجتماعات مجلس الإدارة

تتطلب سياسة مجلس الإدارة ما لا يقل عن أربعة اجتماعات للمجلس سنويا. ومن المقرر عقد اجتماعات المجلس قبل عام. يتم إجراء التغييرات على الجدول حسب الحاجة من قبل رئيس مجلس الإدارة بالتشاور مع أعضاء مجلس الإدارة الآخرين وأعضاء الإدارة الملائمين. ومن المتوقع أن يحضر أعضاء المجلس شخصيا ويشاركوا في اجتماعات المجلس واللجنة، وأن يشاركوا هاتفيا عندما يتعذر عليهم الحضور شخصيا. وفي الحالات التي يكون فيها المدير غير قادر على حضور أحد الاجتماعات، من المتوقع أن يخطر رئيس المجلس أو اللجنة المختصة قبل الاجتماع.

ويضع الرئيس، بالتشاور مع أعضاء المجلس الآخرين أو أعضاء الإدارة، حسب الاقتضاء، جدول أعمال كل اجتماع من اجتماعات المجلس. ولكل عضو من أعضاء المجلس حرية اقتراح إدراج بنود على جدول الأعمال.

ويجوز لأي عضو من أعضاء المجلس أن يعقد المجلس، حسب الاقتضاء، أو الرغبة في حالة عجز الرئيس عن العمل.

20. مواد مجلس الإدارة

يتم تقديم المعلومات المالية والاقتصادية حول الشركة إلى مجلس الإدارة بصورة منتظمة. وبصفة عامة، سيتم توزيع المعلومات والبيانات المهمة لإدراك المجلس للأعمال التي سيتم إجراؤها خطيًا على مجلس الإدارة قبل وقت كاف من اجتماع أعضاء المجلس. وستبذل الإدارة قصارى محاولتها لمعرفة أن هذه المواد موجزة قدر الإمكان بينما لا تزال يتوافر بها المعلومات المطلوبة. وفي تلك المناسبات التي يكون فيها الموضوع حساس للغاية لذكره بالأوراق، يجوز للرئيس أن يختار الاتصال بكل مدير هاتفيا قبل الاجتماع لإخطارهم بالمسائل الأساسية التي سينظر فيها المجلس. ومن المتوقع أن يراجع المديرون مواد المجلس ويخصصون وقتًا مناسبًا لدراستها.

21. العروض التقديمية للمجلس

وكقاعدة عامة، يتم إرسال عروض تقديمية عن مواضيع محددة إلى أعضاء المجلس مسبقا بحيث يمكن الحفاظ على وقت اجتماع المجلس، ويتم تركيز وقت المناقشة على الأسئلة التي يطرحها المجلس حول المادة.

22. الاجتماع السنوي للمساهمين

يتم تشجيع كل عضو من أعضاء المجلس بقوة على حضور اجتماع الشركة السنوي للمساهمين

شؤون اللجنة

23. عدد اللجان

ويوجد حاليا أربع لجان دائمة للمجلس: لجنة التدقيق، والتعويضات، واللجنة التنفيذية ولجنة الحوكمة. ويجوز للمجلس تشكيل أي لجنة يحددها مجلس الإدارة أو دمجها أو حلها بما يراعي مصالح الشركة على أفضل وجه، إلى الحد الذي يتفق مع قواعد التسجيل المعمول به.

24. مهمة اللجان وتناوبها

ولم يعتمد المجلس سياسة محددة بشأن الحيازة بالنسبة لرؤساء اللجان. ويتم تقييم مهام اللجان، بما في ذلك الرؤساء، سنويا وتناوب حسب الاقتضاء. ويوافق مجلس الإدارة على جميع التغييرات التي تطرأ على اللجنة بناء على توصية من لجنة الحوكمة.

25. تواتر اجتماعات اللجان ومدتها

وعادة ما تعقد اجتماعات اللجان (باستثناء اللجنة التنفيذية) في اليوم السابق أو صباح كل اجتماع من اجتماعات المجلس. ومن المقرر عقد اجتماعات اللجان قبل عام. يتم إجراء التغييرات على الجدول حسب الحاجة من قبل رئيس اللجنة بالتشاور مع أعضاء اللجنة الآخرين وأعضاء الإدارة الملائمين. ويقدم كل رئيس لجنة تقريرًا عن شؤون اللجنة إلى مجلس الإدارة في الاجتماع المقبل للمجلس المقرر.

26. جدول أعمال اللجنة

ويضع رئيس اللجنة، بالتشاور مع أعضاء اللجنة الآخرين وأعضاء الإدارة، حسب الاقتضاء، جدول أعمال اللجنة. ويصدر سنويا جدول سنوي أولي لمواضيع جدول أعمال اللجنة. ويحدد رئيس اللجنة جدول الأعمال النهائي بالتشاور مع أعضاء اللجنة الآخرين وأعضاء الإدارة قبل كل اجتماع، حسب الاقتضاء. ويتقاسم المجلس جدول أعمال كل لجنة.

27. مواثيق اللجان

وتعمل اللجان الدائمة وفقا لمواثيقها التي يعتمدها المجلس والتي تنص على المسؤوليات والإجراءات التي يجب على اللجنة اتباعها. يتم تحديد مواثيق اللجنة مسبقًا في الملحق أ المرفق هنا. وتقوم كل لجنة سنويا بمراجعة ميثاقها وتوصي المجلس بأي تغييرات يراها ضرورية.

تنمية القدرات القيادية

28. التقييم الرسمي للمدير التنفيذي

يقوم كل من الرئيس ورئيس مجلس الإدارة المستقل، كما هو منصوص عليه، ولجنة التعويضات بمراجعة واعتماد أهداف الشركة وغاياتها بالنسبة لتعويضات الرئيس التنفيذي وتقييم أداء الرئيس التنفيذي في ضوء هذه الأهداف والغايات. تحدد لجنة التعويضات فيما بعد وتعتمد مستوى تعويض الرئيس التنفيذي. يوفر المجلس المدخلات للرئيس ورئيس مجلس الإدارة، كما هو منصوص عليه، ولجنة التعويضات عن الأهداف والغايات المناسبة للرئيس التنفيذي وأدائه تجاه هذه الأهداف والغايات.

29. تخطيط التعاقب وتطوير الإدارة

وقد اعتمد مجلس الإدارة، على الأقل، سنويا خطة لتعاقب الموظفين الإداريين الرئيسيين، بما في ذلك منصب المدير التنفيذي ويقوم بمراجعتها. ولمساعدة المجلس في هذه المهمة، يجتمع المدير التنفيذي سنويا على الأقل مع المجلس لتقديم تقرير عن تخطيط التعاقب.

وقد أوصى المدير التنفيذي، ووافقت لجنة الحوكمة ومجلس الإدارة على خطة تعاقب المدير التنفيذي الطارئة، والتي تصبح سارية المفعول في حال أصبح المدير التنفيذي غير قادر على أداء واجباته. وسيتم مراجعة خطة تعاقب المدير التنفيذي الطارئة سنويا على الأقل من قبل مجلس الإدارة، ويجب أن تتم الموافقة على أي تغييرات من قبل المجلس.

وسيشرف المجلس على إنشاء برنامج لتطوير الإدارة وصيانته. وسيقوم المدير التنفيذي بمراجعة البرنامج سنويا مع المجلس.

وافق عليها مجلس الإدارة: 4 مايو 2017

Corporate Governance - Guidelines

The Mission of the Board of Directors

The Board of Directors (the "Board") of Western Digital Corporation (the "Company") represents the owners' interest in perpetuating a successful business, including optimizing long-term financial returns. The Board is responsible for determining that the Company is managed in such a way as to seek to accomplish this result. This is an active, not a passive, responsibility. The Board has the objective that in good times, as well as difficult ones, management is capably executing its responsibilities. The Board's responsibility is to regularly monitor the effectiveness of management policies and decisions including the execution of its strategies.

These guidelines represent the Board's current thinking with respect to selected corporate governance issues considered to be of significance to stockholders. These guidelines, along with the charters of the committees of the Board, provide the framework for the governance of the Company. The guidelines are only guidelines and not rigid rules. The Governance Committee will continue to assess the appropriateness and efficacy of the guidelines and recommend from time to time changes for approval by the Board as it deems appropriate in the best interests of the Company or as required by applicable laws and regulations.

Selection and Composition of the Board

1. Board Membership Criteria

The Governance Committee periodically reviews (at least annually) the mix of skills, experience levels and backgrounds of present and potential Board members in light of anticipated needs.

2. Selection and Orientation

The Governance Committee reviews qualifications of potential candidates and recommends director nominees to the full Board. The Governance Committee may receive suggestions for candidates from individual Board members, including the Company’s Chief Executive Officer (the “CEO”), as well as from stockholders of the Company. While the Governance Committee has no specific minimum qualifications for director nominees, the Governance Committee has adopted a policy regarding critical factors to be considered in selecting director nominees which include: the nominee’s personal and professional ethics, integrity and values; the nominee’s intellect, judgment, foresight, skills, experience (including understanding of marketing, finance, the Company’s technology and other elements relevant to the success of a company such as the Company) and achievements, all of which are viewed in the context of the overall composition of the Board; the absence of any conflict of interest (whether due to a business or personal relationship) or legal impediment to, or restriction on, the nominee serving as a director; having a majority of independent directors on the Board; and representation of the long-term interests of the shareholders as a whole and a diversity of backgrounds and expertise which are most needed and beneficial to the Board and the Company.

Each of the directors is expected to devote the time and effort necessary to understand the business of the Company and to properly discharge such director’s responsibilities. New directors are required to participate in the Company’s director orientation program to familiarize such directors with, among other things, the Company’s business, and significant financial, accounting and risk management issues, principal executive officers, independent auditors and internal auditors, code of ethics and corporate governance guidelines. The Company encourages its directors to attend at least one continuing education program each year to assist them in performing their Board responsibilities.

3. Extending the Invitation to a Potential Director to Join the Board

The invitation to join the Board should be extended by the Chairman of the Governance Committee or his or her designee, on behalf of the Board.

Board Leadership

4. Selection of Chairman and CEO

The Board is free to make its choice for Chairman and CEO in any way that the Board considers best for the Company at a given point in time. Therefore, the Board does not have a policy on whether or not the role of the CEO and Chairman should be separate and, if it is to be separate, whether the Chairman should be selected from the non-employee directors or be an employee director.

5. Lead Director

The Board will appoint a lead independent director: (1) if the Chairman is not an independent director under the listing standards of The NASDAQ Stock Market LLC (“Applicable Listing Rules”), or (2) if the Board otherwise deems it appropriate.  The lead independent director will act as a liaison between the independent directors and the Company’s management and shall be responsible for assisting the Chairman in establishing the agenda for Board meetings, for coordinating the agenda for, and chairing, the executive sessions of the independent directors, and for performing such other duties as may be specified by the Board from time to time.

6. Executive Sessions of Non-Management Directors

The independent directors, as such term is defined under the Applicable Listing Rules, meet at least twice a year without any executive officers or management directors present.  These meetings are scheduled in conjunction with regular Board meetings.  In addition, any independent director may call for an executive session of the independent directors of the Board to coincide with any regularly scheduled Board meeting.  Independent directors may also meet separately, with the CEO, from time to time, as determined by the independent directors and/or the CEO.

7. Access to Independent Advisors

The Board and its Committees have access to such independent advisors as the Board or the relevant Committee (consistent with the provisions of its charter) deem necessary and appropriate.

8. Size of Board

The Board and the Governance Committee have determined that a Board of 7-13 directors is currently the appropriate size.

9. Mix of Inside and Independent Directors

On matters of corporate governance, the practice is to involve the full Board. The Board shall be composed of a majority of independent directors.

10. Independence of Directors

The Board shall annually review the relationships that each director has with the Company.  Following such an annual review, only those directors who the Board affirmatively determines do not have a relationship which, in the opinion of the Board, would interfere with the exercise of independent judgment in carrying out the responsibilities of a director, and who otherwise meet the definition of independent director under the Applicable Listing Rules, will be considered independent directors.

Each of the Audit Committee, the Compensation Committee and the Governance Committee shall be composed entirely of independent directors satisfying applicable legal, regulatory and stock exchange requirements necessary for an assignment to any such Committee.

11. Directors Who Change Their Present Job Responsibilities

Any director who has a significant change in occupation, retires from his or her principal employment or is unavailable for active participation due to health, change of residence or similar reason (except for a short duration) shall submit to the Governance Committee an offer of resignation from the Board. Action on such conditional offer of resignation is by Board resolution, upon recommendation of the Governance Committee.

12. Service on Boards and Committees of Other Companies

Directors are encouraged to limit the number of other boards on which they serve, taking into account potential board attendance, participation and effectiveness on these boards. Directors may not serve simultaneously on more than five public company boards, including the Company’s Board; provided; however, that if a director is an executive officer of a public company, he or she may not serve simultaneously on more than two public company boards, including the Company’s Board. Directors should also advise the Chairman of the Board and the Chairman of the Governance Committee in advance of accepting an invitation to serve on another board.

Members of the Audit Committee may not serve simultaneously on more than three public company audit committees, including the Company’s audit committee, except with the prior approval of the Board.

13. Retirement Age and Term Limits

The Board does not believe it should establish term limits. While term limits could help ensure that there are fresh ideas and viewpoints available to the Board, they hold the disadvantage of losing the contribution of directors who have been able to develop, over a period of time, increasing insight into the Company and its operations and, therefore, provide an increasing contribution to the Board as a whole. As an alternative to term limits, the Governance Committee, in conjunction with the CEO, formally reviews each director’s continuation on the Board every year. This also allows each director the opportunity to conveniently confirm his or her desire to continue as a member of the Board.

The Board has adopted a policy that, unless it is determined in a particular instance that longer tenure is in the best interests of the Board or the Company: (1) no director shall be nominated for re-election at an annual stockholders meeting coinciding with or next following his or her 72nd birthday and (2) inside directors shall retire on the date of their retirement or termination of employment with the Company or its affiliates.

Board Compensation

14. Board Compensation

The form and amount of director compensation is approved by the Board, upon recommendation of the Compensation Committee. In making its recommendation, the Compensation Committee considers: (1) both direct and indirect forms of compensation to the Company’s directors, including any charitable contributions by the Company to organizations in which a director is affiliated and consulting or other similar arrangements between the Company and a director, and (2) the impact on the director’s independence of the amount and form of director compensation. The Company’s Human Resources Department monitors director compensation in relation to other comparable U.S. companies on an ongoing basis and recommends to the Compensation Committee changes in the Company’s director compensation program it deems appropriate. The Compensation Committee may also, in its sole discretion after considering such independence factors as may be required by the Applicable Listing Rules or applicable SEC rules, retain or obtain the advice of a compensation consultant, legal counsel or other advisor to assist it as the Compensation Committee determines necessary or appropriate.

Directors’ fees are the only compensation a member of the Company's Audit Committee may receive from the Company.

Board Performance

15. Assessing the Board's Performance

At least annually, the Board will conduct a self-evaluation utilizing a Self-Appraisal Questionnaire, a third party facilitator and/or other appropriate means developed by the Governance Committee and approved by the Board. The self-evaluation will be designed to assess the Board’s contribution as a whole and the contributions of the committees of the Board and to specifically review areas in which the directors believe a better contribution could be made. The purpose is to increase the effectiveness of the functions of the Board, not to target individual Board members. The Board believes, however, that assessments of individual Board members are an important part of the evaluation of Board performance. Therefore, it is the Company’s policy to provide for a means of review and assessment by Board members of each individual Board member’s performance as part of the overall Board evaluation process. In addition, each of the Board’s committees conducts an annual self-evaluation. The Governance Committee will manage the Board review process.

16. Board Interaction with Institutional Investors, the Press, Customers, etc.

The Board believes that management generally should speak for the Company. While individual Board members may, from time to time, meet or otherwise communicate with various constituencies that are involved with the Company, it is expected that Board members would do this with the knowledge of management and, in most instances, at the request of management. In its discretion, the Board may interact with the Company’s stockholders as appropriate.

Board Relationship to Senior Management

17. Regular Attendance of Non-Directors at Board Meetings

The General Counsel and/or the Secretary are the only non-directors generally present at each Board meeting for its duration. The officers who compose the senior management attend meetings for operational, financial and related presentations. Other officers attend on an invitation basis for presentations or other purposes.

18. Board Access to Senior Management

Board members have complete access to Company management. It is assumed that Board members will use judgment to be sure that this contact is not distracting to the Company and that such contact, if in writing, be copied to the CEO. Furthermore, the Board encourages management to, from time to time, bring managers into Board Meetings who: (a) can provide additional insight into the items being discussed because of personal involvement in these areas, and/or (b) represent managers with future potential that senior management believes should be given exposure to the Board.

Meeting Procedures

19. Board Meetings

Board policy requires at least four Board meetings per year. Board meetings are scheduled a year in advance. Changes to the schedule are made as needed by the Chairman in consultation with other Board members and appropriate members of management. Directors are expected to attend in person and participate in Board and committee meetings, and to participate telephonically when they are unable to attend in person. On occasions when a director is unable to attend a meeting, he or she is expected to notify the Chairman of the Board or appropriate committee in advance of such meeting.

The Chairman, in consultation with other Board members or members of management, as appropriate, establishes the agenda for each Board meeting. Each Board member is free to suggest the inclusion of items on the agenda.

Any member of the Board may act to convene the Board as necessary or desirable in the event the Chairman is incapacitated.

20. Board Materials

Financial and economic information about the Company is provided to the Board on a regular basis. Generally information and data that is important to the Board’s understanding of the business to be conducted at a meeting will be distributed in writing to the Board an adequate time before the Board meets. Management will make every attempt to see that this material is as brief as possible while still providing the desired information. On those occasions in which the subject matter is too sensitive to put on paper, the Chairman may elect to contact each director by telephone in advance of the meeting to notify them of the principle issues the Board will consider. Directors are expected to review and devote appropriate time to studying Board materials.

21. Board Presentations

As a general rule, presentations on specific subjects are sent to the Board members in advance so that Board meeting time may be conserved and discussion time focused on questions that the Board has about the material.

22. Annual Meeting of Shareholders

Each director is strongly encouraged to attend the Company’s Annual Meeting of Shareholders

Committee Matters

23. Number of Committees

There are currently four standing Board committees: Audit, Compensation, Executive and Governance. The Board may form, merge or dissolve any Committee the Board determines in the best interests of the Company, to the extent consistent with the Applicable Listing Rules.

24. Committee Assignment and Rotation

The Board has not adopted a specific tenure policy for Committee Chairs. Committee assignments, including Chairs, are evaluated annually and rotated as appropriate. All Committee changes are approved by the Board, upon recommendation of the Governance Committee.

25. Frequency and Length of Committee Meetings

Committee meetings (other than for the Executive Committee) are normally held on the day preceding, or the morning of, each regularly scheduled Board meeting. Committee meetings are scheduled a year in advance. Changes to the schedule are made as needed by the Committee Chair in consultation with, as appropriate, other members of the Committee and members of management. Each Committee Chair makes a report on Committee matters to the Board at the next scheduled Board meeting.

26. Committee Agenda

The Chair of the Committee in consultation with, as appropriate, other members of the Committee and members of management, develops the Committee’s agenda. A preliminary annual schedule of Committee agenda subjects is issued each year. The final agenda is set by the Committee Chair in consultation with, as appropriate, other members of the Committee and members of management prior to each meeting. Each Committee’s agenda is shared with the Board.

27. Committee Charters

The standing Committees operate pursuant to their charters adopted by the Board, which set forth the responsibilities and procedures that the Committee must follow. The Committee charters are set forth in Appendix A attached hereto. Each Committee annually reviews its charter and recommends to the Board any changes it deems necessary.

Leadership Development

28. Formal Evaluation of the CEO

The Chairman and the Lead Independent Director, as applicable, and the Compensation Committee will review and approve corporate goals and objectives for CEO compensation and evaluate the CEO’s performance in light of those goals and objectives. The Compensation Committee will then determine and approve the CEO’s compensation level. The Board will provide input to the Chairman, Lead Independent Director, as applicable, and the Compensation Committee on the appropriate goals and objectives for the CEO and the CEO’s performance against those goals and objectives.

29. Succession Planning and Management Development

The Board of Directors has adopted and shall review at least annually a succession plan for key management personnel, including the position of CEO. To assist the Board in this function, the CEO shall meet at least annually with the Board to report on succession planning.

The CEO has recommended, and the Governance Committee and Board of Directors have approved, an emergency CEO succession plan, which will become effective in the event the CEO becomes unable to perform his or her duties. The emergency CEO succession plan will be reviewed at least annually by the Board and any changes must be approved by the Board.

The Board will oversee the creation and maintenance of a program of management development. The CEO will review the program annually with the Board.

Approved by Board of Directors: May 4, 2017