بناء الاقتصادات المحلية

نحن نعيش ونعمل في مجتمعات متنوعة في جميع أنحاء العالم، ونساهم بصورة كبيرة في الانتعاش الاقتصادي لهذه المجتمعات. وكلما توسعنا في عمليات التشغيل لدينا، نوفر فرص عمل بأجور ومزايا جيدة لموظفينا الذين يزداد عددهم باستمرار. وعلاوةً على ذلك، نحن نساهم في تأسيس شركات وحث غيرها على توفير المواد والخدمات لنا. إنها علاقة تكافلية يكون المستفيد الرئيسي فيها هم الرجال والنساء الذين يجدون مزيدًا من الفرص في المجالين الاقتصادي والتعليمي في المجتمعات التي نعمل بها.

وهذا هو الحال تحديدًا في دولتي تايلاند وماليزيا. فعلى الرغم من أن شركة WD شركة عالمية بحق، فإننا ننتج الكثير من منتجاتنا في هاتين الدولتين. حيث يعمل في مصانعنا في تايلاند أكثر من 29,000 شخص ما يجعل شركة WD أكبر جهة عمل واحدة أمريكية في البلد.

كذلك نوظف أفرادًا محليين مما يزيد من الوعاء الضريبي للبلد. فضلًا عن أننا نسدد المدفوعات للموردين المحليين نظير استخدام المواد الخام والسلع الجاهزة والخدمات والمعدات الرأسمالية. ويؤدي طلب شركاتنا على هذه السلع والخدمات إلى تأسيس شركات محلية ونمو غيرها من الشركات، والتي بدورها، تخلق فرص عمل إضافية يشغلها السكان المحليون. في الحقيقة، يوجد أكثر من 300 شركة كائنة في تايلاند تعمل مع WD ببعض طاقتها. ولكل هذا النشاط الاقتصادي أثر هائل. في العام المالي 2006، وصل إجمالي إسهاماتنا المباشرة وغير المباشرة في اقتصاد تايلاند إلى أكثر من 170 مليار بات تايلندي، أو 2.2% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي للدولة.

ولم يكن أثر عملياتنا التشغيلية اقتصاديًا بشكل بحت. فنحن نخلق عددًا متزايدًا من الوظائف الفنية والإدارية التي تتطلب مهارات عالية في تايلاند. وبدلاً من استيراد هذه المهارات من الخارج، فإننا نوظف أصحاب المهارات من الداخل لشغل هذه الوظائف. ومن ثمّ يزيد الاستثمار المحلي في التعليم، والشراكات الفريدة بين WD والمؤسسات التعليمية المحلية التي تهدف إلى تدريب الجيل التالي من المهندسين والمديرين الذين سيساهمون في توجيه مجهوداتنا في التطوير والتصنيع مستقبلًا. على سبيل المثال، تعاونت شركة WD مع ﺍﳌﺮﻛﺰ ﺍﻟﻮﻃﲏ للإلكترونيات ﻭﺗﻜﻨﻮﻟﻮﺟﻴﺎ ﺍﳊﺎﺳﻮﺏ في تايلاند لإنشاء معهد للتدريب التكنولوجي (HDD) يجمع ما بين الباحثين والأكاديميين وقادة الأعمال والتكنولوجيا معًا لتدريب المهندسين وتعليمهم فيما يتعلق بالعمل لدى الجهات المصنّعة لمحركات الأقراص الثابتة وغيرها من الشركات في سلاسل الإمداد الخاصة بهم. كما عملت WD أيضًا جنبًا إلى جنب مع المعهد الآسيوي للتكنولوجيا والجامعات التايلاندية الأخرى لتصميم دورات تدريبية بالكليات ووضع برامج لمنح الخريجين شهادات جامعية تركز على العناصر المختلفة لتكنولوجيا محركات الأقراص الثابتة.

ولنا قصة مماثلة في ماليزيا، حيث كان لنا حضور ملحوظ هناك لأكثر من 30 عامًا. حيث نوظف أكثر من 16,000 شخص في منشآتنا بماليزيا، ما يجعلنا واحدة من أكبر جهات العمل الأمريكية في البلد.

وكما هو الحال في تايلاند، نتج عن عملياتنا في ماليزيا استثمار مباشر هائل على هيئة توفير آلاف الوظائف بأجور عالية، بالإضافة إلى استثمار غير مباشر هائل يتضح في إنشاء الشركات المحلية ونموها حيث توفر لنا مختلف السلع والخدمات. ويعمل ما يقرب من 600 شركة في ماليزيا مع WD لتوفير السلع والخدمات لعملياتنا وموظفينا. في العام المالي 2006، وصل إجمالي إسهاماتنا المباشرة وغير المباشرة في اقتصاد ماليزيا إلى أكثر من 12 مليار رينغيت ماليزي، أو 3.4% من إجمالي الناتج المحلي للدولة.

كما يساهم حضورنا أيضًا في المجتمعات في جميع أنحاء ماليزيا وتايلاند في إنشاء بنية تحتية عامة والعمل على استدامتها، حيث تم تطويرها لتحسين حياة الأفراد الذين نوظفهم ويوظفهم شركاؤنا في العمل. تستثمر المجتمعات التي نعيش ونعمل فيها في الطرق والكباري، ووسائل الاتصالات وشبكات الكهرباء، والمدارس ومؤسسات السلامة العامة، وجميعها ضرورية لخدمة وحماية المجتمعات المزدهرة التي تظهر حول عمليات التشغيل التي نُجريها.

وأخيرًا، نحن نوفر التمويل والمساعدة للمدارس، وملاجئ الأيتام ودور المسنين وغيرها من المؤسسات الأخرى في المناطق التي نعيش ونعمل بها.

Building Local Economies

We live and work in diverse communities throughout the world, and we contribute significantly to the economic vitality of those communities. As we grow our operations, we provide jobs with good wages and benefits to our own, ever-increasing employee population. In addition, we help create and encourage other businesses that provide materials and services to us. It is a symbiotic relationship whose primary beneficiaries are the men and women who find expanded economic and educational opportunities in the communities in which we operate.

This is particularly the case in the nations of Thailand and Malaysia. While WD is truly a global company, we produce a lot of our products in these two countries. In our plants in Thailand, we employ more than 29,000 people, making WD the single largest U.S. employer in the country.

We employ local people which enlarges the nation's tax base. We also pay local suppliers for raw materials, finished goods, services and capital equipment. Our business' demand for these goods and services leads to the creation and growth of local companies who, in turn, create additional jobs filled by local residents. In fact, more than 300 businesses based in Thailand work with WD in some capacity. All of this economic activity has a meaningful impact. In fiscal year 2006, our direct and indirect contributions to Thailand's economy totaled well over 170 billion Thai baht, or 2.2% of the nation's gross domestic product.

The impact of our operations is not merely economic. We are generating an increasing number of highly-skilled technical and managerial positions in Thailand. Rather than simply import this talent from abroad, we are hiring the talent to fill these positions from within. The result is greater local investment in education, and unique partnerships between WD and local educational institutions designed to train the next generation of engineers and managers who will help lead our development and manufacturing efforts in the future. For instance, WD partnered with Thailand's National Electronics and Computer Technology Center to create the HDD Technology Training Institute which brings together researchers, academics and business and technology leaders to train and educate engineers to work for hard drive manufacturers and other companies in their supply chain. WD has also worked closely with the Asian Institute of Technology and other Thai universities to develop college courses and graduate level degree programs focused on different elements of hard drive technology.

The story is similar in Malaysia, where we have had a significant presence for more than 30 years. We employ more than 16,000 people in our Malaysian facilities, making us one of the largest U.S. employers in the country.

As is true with Thailand, our operations in Malaysia result in significant direct investment in the form of thousands of high wage jobs, as well as substantial indirect investment manifested in the creation and growth of local companies who provide us various goods and services. Close to 600 businesses based in Malaysia work with WD to provide goods and services to our operations and employee population. In fiscal year 2006, our direct and indirect contributions to the Malaysian economy totaled well over 12 billion Malaysian ringgit, or more than 3.4% of Malaysia's gross domestic product.

Our presence in communities throughout Malaysia and Thailand also helps create and sustain public infrastructure, which is developed to enhance the lives of the people we employ and those employed by our business partners. The communities we live and work in invest in roads and bridges, telecommunications and electricity networks, and schools and public safety organizations, all of which are essential to serve and protect the thriving communities that spring up around our operations.

Finally, we provide funding and other assistance to schools, orphanages, homes for the aged and other institutions in and around the areas where we live and work.